© 2019 Benjamin Grosvenor​

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon

Praise for Benjamin's London Symphony Orchestra debut

January 30, 2017

Benjamin made his debut with the London Symphony Orchestra on Thursday 26 January, performing Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 1 conducted by Alpesh Chauhan. In a review for Bachtrack, Alexander Hall commented:


“the chamber-like delicacy of much of Grosvenor’s playing, ably supported by the LSO’s wind soloists and horn section, made this a reading of considerable subtlety, with the rhapsodic elements in the development section benefiting from a clarity of tone and phrasing.”


Geoff Brown at The Times published a 4* review, adding:


“[A] young British luminary sat bolt upright at the keys for Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1 … Never a flighty or showy artist, Grosvenor managed to make the solo part’s fierce unison statements and pensive passages even more grandiose than usual.”


Finally, Classical Source's Ates Orga noted:


“Grosvenor held his own. At times achieving a delicacy and finesse, a whispered phrasing-off, a weighting of melody, inner voicing and chords one might expect more from a recital or studio context, he reached the poetic heights in the Adagio, the closing trills and final ensemble dissolving ethereally … You could hear a pin drop. The great F-major double-octave clarion call of the first movement, the Beethovenian stamp and canter, the glittering cascades of the Finale, the two closing fantasia-cadenzas showed another side – bold, grand and authoritative, prepared to play the hall but with quality, tone and taste at a premium. There was much to satisfy.”




Please reload